dusty blog.

when christian began his quest for vinyl several months ago i tagged along. friday nights would find us in small music shops all around town. searching. saturday mornings i’d stop at yard sales. flipping. through dusty boxes. little by little our collection grows. saturday we stopped by golden oldies records and tapes. while christian was digging for journey-gold, i found kansas. as i listened to my new-old record playing one of my favorite songs*, i realized sometimes we let the dust get to us. the dust of worry and of regret. the dust of past mistakes. the dust of our shortcomings. the dust of responsibility — sometimes the dust piles on top of us and makes us choke.

sometimes all we need is a good shake.

my blog has been silent. i don’t have a reason why. just the fact that i haven’t felt like writing — but i have been thinking a lot this past month: i realized losing my grandpa was harder than i expected and despite the circumstances for which we returned home, we enjoyed a perfect visit. i was reminded life continues to whirl past you and just when you think you have a handle on things you get thrown a new responsibility that sometimes leaves you scared to death. with the challenges come the fun; i experienced my first brasilian soccer match. i was surprised with fantastic tickets. and i made christian ride rental bikes the 12 miles from victoria to the butchart gardens… and sometimes, when you let your blog lay dormant, a very dusty blog you had completely forgotten about is discovered.

*i close my eyes, only for a moment and the moment’s gone. all my dreams pass before my eyes a curiosity. dust in the wind all we are is dust in the wind. same old song, just a drop of water in the endless sea. all we do crumbles to the ground though we refuse to see. dust in the wind all we are is dust in the wind. {dust in the wind, kansas}

6 thoughts on “dusty blog.

  1. >I love reading your blog. Mine must seem so —- lame. You write so beautifully. So, I was looking to see if I was linked on your blog, and realized it was me when I saw: stacks of jeans and piles of doc martens. You are hilarious! I love it.

  2. >”You can’t always get what you want,But if you try, sometimes,you just might find,You get what you need!”When I go you’re going to need a big dustpan… you should start to recruit sweepers about now.P.s. I still have a lot of my old vinyl… remember, however, rock and roll died about 1978 or 9. After that, I did buy a “Thriller” album for someone who entirely did not appreciate the joke…

  3. >I am glad you want to shake the dust. I miss reading your stories! Keep it up girl. I never realized ‘Dust in the Wind’ had such good lyrics.luv ya.

Leave a Reply

