thanksgiving is…

ambrosia salad*.

it was a staple at my granny’s house and it will be a staple in mine. if you ask christian the same question he’d say it was cheesy broccoli. journal entry after journal entry he has documented the menu of his childhood thanksgiving meals. the commonality – broccoli with cheese sauce.

this morning we were discussing our holiday plans, or lack there of. thanksgiving is my favorite holiday and yet this year it seems crushingly hollow. we decided to go ahead and make our own feast like we did our first year. (however, this time around christian will not be buying a 20 pound turkey from costco!)

christian of course wants those dang cheesy broccolis. do i just dump velveeta on them? i thought.

then he mentioned a pumpkin pie and started salivating a little bit.

i asked if he wanted two pies, pecan? apple? since i’d have enough pie crust for two.

he quickly said, we can just buy a pie.

no, we could not! you don’t just buy thanksgiving pies! well maybe some people do… but i am not the pie buying type! (well, unless we are at an apple farm in spokane and they have apple-cherry crumb pies on display!) i think my pie fervor took him by surprise. and for the true pie purists out there, yes, i have made a pumpkin pie from scratch so i’ll know what to do if this pumpkin shortage is serious business! i still need to figure out this cheese sauce…

*ambrosia =
1 can mandarin oranges, drained
1 can diced pineapple, drained
2 cups flaked coconut
1 cup maraschino cherries
2 cups mini marshmallows
1 container sour cream
5 thoughts on “thanksgiving is…

  1. >You would hate Thanksgiving at my house then…I always buy the pies. The good news is…now that I live in the country my pie buying options have greatly improved. I have purchased them from a lady selling them on the street. Or maybe that's bad news. Oh well, we'll find out. :)Have a great Thanksgiving! We miss you guys!

  2. >Broccoli for Thanksgiving? How funny–sorry Christian–but I've never thought of broccoli and Thanksgiving together!I made Ambrosia salad for years and years (except we call it marshmallow salad). But, the anti-coconut people keep me from making it now. It just screams Thanksgiving to me, too. I wonder why? 🙂

  3. >Some of our Thanksgiving guests offered to bring a jello salad, and to simplify things (well, as much as you can simplify three homemade pies and pumpkin cheesecake and two kinds of rolls and turkey and stuffing (although I can never bring myself to add quite as much sage as Granny did!) and all the other necessary accoutrements of that meal) I decided to leave out the marshmallow salad (ambrosia by any other name). I had to restrain myself over and over again from pulling the carton of sour cream out of the fridge and mixing it with the marshmallows and fruit. It's not an easy thing to overcome that early training!And next year, jello salad or not, we're having marshmallow salad. 🙂

Leave a Reply

