a patient smile.

when you’re single, weekends are kind of a big deal. you look forward to them and plan something great.

when we got married everyone asked how married life was. for me, married life just felt like a weekend all week long. we were together all the time. we didn’t have to go home to our own houses. in a way, every night seemed like a weekend night.

over the years we’ve noticed that the weekends kind of sneak up on us. we usually forget to plan something or we end up doing ordinary things that don’t really feel like dates.

a while back i came home from work a little downtrodden. christian came to the rescue offering a date night. i was excited until he mentioned dinner at costco. now, don’t get me wrong, i love sharing a fountain pop at costco. but that night i was wanting something a little more special.

off we went on our costco dinner date. christian tends to be efficient in his driving, trying to fit in as many errands as possible. after a stop at home depot, walmart and kohl’s we were finally at costco. we snuck in right before closing. i ate my kind of old slice of pizza and swallowed down my disappointment.

christian hatched a plan.

the next day he called me to make sure i was coming home right after work. he said he wanted to take me on a date. he kept checking in to see where i was on my commute. as soon as i got home we headed off in the opposite direction.

that night he broke all his rules as he patiently drove 25 miles for food without adding on any errands.

as we pulled in to the town i quickly spotted a sonic sign. i have loved sonic since high school but i haven’t lived near one since college. trips and out-of-state visits have usually included a detour through a sonic drive-in.

luckily, this newest sonic was on christian’s radar.

we ate our tots and sandwiches, drank our slushes and enjoyed our half price milk shake.

our drive home was just as good as we backtracked the same roads we came in the cool evening.

 

——–
i gave you all, by mumford & sons

7 thoughts on “a patient smile.

  1. I love this. I love you guys.
    I can’t convince Tay to drive the 1 hour + drive to Bellingham (the closest Chick-Fil-A). I guess that’s a little extreme for chicken nuggets and a chocolate milkshake.

    1. Are you kidding me!! I think I found our outing. We are going to Chick-Fil-A! I love that place. Those little nuggets of wonderful are definitely worth it!!

  2. Hey Robin! I love your blog 🙂 And I can totally relate to the occasional lameness of married date nights. Recently, we bought a vacuum during a date and then talked about it over ice cream! Fortunately, the conversation only lasted 30 seconds before we realized that we needed to change the subject.

    ~chrissy edwards

  3. I love Sonic. I was so disappointed when we moved to Seattle and I realized there wasn’t one nearby. This is seriously my ideal dream date.

  4. My high school boyfriend and I had our first date at Sonic (back in Oklahoma, the land were it was founded). I still love that place. Since I moved to LA, the closest one to me is down in the OC, but you betcha that I’ll drive outta my way for a slush. Sometimes that’s just what you need!

Leave a Reply

